Eyes Wide Open

I’m working on a baby blanket. I decided to take some time today to transform the easily tangled commercial skeins of yarn into balls that are less likely to make me swear while I’m crocheting. I like my baby blankets to be filled with love and good thoughts, not echoes of frustration.

I spun and spun, and while I spun I thought about being the mom of a new baby, and I thought about being the mom of a married woman on her way, with her camera, to capture another woman’s wedding day, and I thought about how quickly I went from being one to the other. Layers of yarn spun on top of each other, each one disappearing as the next covered it, and suddenly the end of the yarn flew through my fingers and I was done.

In the words of Ferris Bueller, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

3 thoughts on “Eyes Wide Open

  1. Sometimes it seems that my hands need something to do, to occupy one part of my brain so that the rest can go roaming and find something deep. It’s nice to get caught up in your thoughts from time to time, and I love how handwork can make that happen.

    • Tasha, I found my way to your blog from Root Simple the other day and really enjoyed it. Nice to see you here! And, yes, I also love the affect working with my hands has on my thinking.

Leave a Reply

