Mommy and Me

Right before I bought the last of the tomatoes, my mom gave me a recipe for tomato pie.  I think she would say I was pretty good about following directions when I was a kid. Not so much now.

Tomato Pie

Biscuit dough *

2 very large tomatoes, sliced **

1 large onion, sliced

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 1/2 cups grated mozarella

2/3 cup mayonnaise

Oregano & Basil ***

Saute onion and pepper in butter. Set aside.

Stretch biscuit dough to cover bottom of a greased pie pan.

Cover dough with two or three layers of sliced tomatoes.

Cover tomatoes with onion and pepper.

Sprinkle with oregano and basil.

Mix mozarella and mayo together and spread on top.

Bake for 40-45 minutes.

Let stand at least 15 minutes before cutting.

*Mom’s recipe calls for a can of biscuits. I pulled out her old recipe for baking soda biscuits instead. Recipe below.

**Mom peels hers. I couldn’t come up with any good reason to do so, so I didn’t.

***Mom used dill as well. I didn’t have any. She uses 1/8 of a teaspoon of each. I say apply liberally.

Baking Soda  Biscuits

2 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 Tablespoons butter

1 1/4 cups milk

Mix dry ingredients.

Work butter in with a knife.

Add milk and stir to combine.

I didn’t need the whole recipe for the pie, so I dropped the extra dough in four bits onto a baking sheet and cooked at 450 for 12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

